Class of 2017: Jack

My four years here at CHS are full of memories that I will hopefully treasure for the rest of my life. But starting off from the very beginning, going into freshman year as a new kid in a new state was one of the most nerve-wracking experiences I had ever gone through. It was something I never had to deal with before. My transition from pre-K to elementary, and from there to middle school was always easy because I had basically been around a majority of the same people for seven years straight. Now I was entering a entirely new territory where I knew no one. Thankfully enough, I was welcomed into a group of friends that made this change less scary and made me feel welcome. Although that original group broke apart in bits over the years, at the same time I was meeting many new faces who I’m grateful to call my friends. Shoutout to my homie Vanessa, for I think she’s the only friend from the OG group from freshman year that has stuck with me since then. Our friendship has only gotten stronger over the years and I’m truly going to miss her after she moves away.

A large part of my high school experience and probably the source of some of the best memories, believe it or not, was being in yearbook. I know, shocker, right? I won’t get too into it too much in detail because there’s a whole other piece in this edition where I talk about it, which you should go read by the way (page 3). But I will say that after I joined yearbook in my junior year, I knew that I had found the place where I belonged and could use my skills to create something. I’m thoroughly jealous of my friends in yearbook who will be able to spend their whole high school experience in that class, something I didn’t do but am so glad I made that decision to spend my last two years creating something we’re passionate about surrounded by amazing people. I will miss my “yearbook compadres” dearly and I don’t know how I will survive without seeing their faces everyday, but thank God for snap streaks and group chats.

 

Jack Turner, co-editor-in-chief of the Chintimini, Corvallis High’s yearbook. 

