Class of 2017: Colleen

Even as I write this, I have difficulty believing that in a matter of weeks I will be in Gill, giving speeches and receiving my diploma. I’ll admit, a bit of senioritis has set in now that I committed to a school and I know I’m not going to be living at home the rest of my life, but I’m trying to stay strong! I think the whole senior class is having a gradual epiphany right now, because we’re all realizing that the interactions, daily norms and aspects of high school we all take for granted will be a thing of the past. Personally, I have really enjoyed high school for the most part and being so involved is only going to make my goodbyes harder. I have met some of the kindest, funniest, quirkiest and most hard working people through my various activities and it’s sad when you consider the fact that after we leave here, we may never see most of these people again. I won’t get to make fun of Mr. Mooney for his gold chain, or argue with classmates over the meaning of life in Mr. King’s class, or suffer from severe sleep deprivation during Mr./Ms. Spartan with Mrs. Schmeder. I wish I had spent more time enjoying the time I had with my peers, friends, and classmates and less time worrying about the future, grades, etc. So if you’re an underclassmen reading this, enjoy your football games, home cooked meals, and school dances while you can! You’ll be a senior in a blink of an eye.

I think CHS was an incredible place to spend the last 4 years and I feel pretty well prepared for college in terms of academics. What I feel completely unprepared for, however, is life away from Corvallis, my parents, the friends I’ve had for 10 plus years in some cases, my dog, and the comfort of my home. I was lucky to have 17 amazing years in Corvallis, and the thought of braving the unknown in LA is terrifying. To be completely honest, I still don’t know how to cook… I’m hoping all those “adult skills” come to me in a dream or something because college might be rough without them. So as you can tell, I’m feeling pretty nostalgic about leaving and venturing out into the vast unknown but I am so excited to start this new chapter of my life!!

 

 

 

