Goodbye, Class of 2016

KARI GOTTFRIED 6/8/2016

As the year comes to a close, another batch of students leave the safe abode of k-12 schooling and enter the real world. For 13 years, they’ve been subjected to homework, tests, and indefensibly short recesses. In just a few days, they’ll be free. But the seniors can’t just leave without a backwards glance at everything that has made them who they are today. First of all, their teachers. “They’ve nurtured me and shown compassion in dark times. Seeing the teachers at CHS has made me want to become one ” says Theo Gorchels. Their friends have also made quite an impact on their lives. Libby Smith states, “My friends gave me some of the best times of my life, while also pushing me academically and athletically.  I would not be where I am today without their motivation and support.” The classes they took prepared them for further education, both inside the classroom and in the workplace. “I learned how to manage my time and energy. I learned how to prioritize while making time for my health”, adds Gabi Garza. Finally, they couldn’t have made it through school without their families. Kaiana Bradley, “My family has helped me to succeed with unconditional support. When I decided I wanted to do something, they decided to give whatever they could to help make it a reality.” Through endless days of powerpoints and essays, speeches and group projects, the class of 2016 is finally ready to continue on to the next stage of their lives. As for the rest of us? We’ll be here, waiting for our turn and encouraging the graduates on. Just remember: Once a Spartan, always a Spartan.

